Welcome to the Texas Institute of Letters

Texas Writers and Literature


Call for TIL Contest Entries, with prizes totaling more than $22,000. Download PDF of 2018 Contest Details and Judges to fill out form for contest entry and to send work to judges. The deadline is January 15, 2019.

The Texas Institute of Letters has chosen Naomi Shihab Nye as the winner of the prestigious Lon Tinkle Award for Lifetime Achievement, the highest honor given by the TIL. The award will be presented to Nye in McAllen on April 27, 2019.

Click the link to reserve your room for our next annual meeting and awards banquet at the Casa De Palmas in McAllen, Texas on April 26-27, 2019. Purchase banquet tickets at Payments and Donations. The banquet is open to the public.

Spring/Summer 2018 Newsletter

For any questions on this website, contact the webmaster Sergio Troncoso.

The Texas Institute of Letters is a non-profit Honor Society founded in 1936 to celebrate Texas literature and to recognize distinctive literary achievement. The TIL’s elected membership consists of the state’s most respected writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, and scholarship. Induction into the TIL is based on literary accomplishments. Application for membership is not accepted. The rules governing the selection of members and officers are contained in the TIL By-Laws. The TIL annually elects new members, gives awards to recognize outstanding literary works, and supports the Dobie Paisano Fellowship Program for writers.

Acclaimed poet, short-story writer, novelist, and essayist, Sandra Cisneros received the 2018 Lon Tinkle Award from the TIL. Recipient of the MacArthur Genius Grant and National Medal of Freedom of the Arts, she founded the Macondo Foundation and the Alfredo Cisneros del Moral Foundation to help emerging writers.

Submit annual dues, banquet fees, and other donations by credit card or PayPal: Payments and Donations. This link is also on the Members page, with the PDF form to submit payments by regular mail.