

## TEXAS INSTITUTE OF LETTERS ANNOUNCES RECIPIENT OF JONES FELLOWSHIP

The Texas Institute of Letters announces the recipient of the 2025 Jones Fellowship: Rubén Degollado.

The Jesse H. Jones Fellowship from the Texas Institute of Letters is aimed at working writers who are at any stage in their careers: emerging, mid-level, or restarting. A writer must demonstrate a commitment to the craft with some record of prior publishing and/or cite specific examples of workshops, mentor programs, or master classes that they have attended. The fellowship consists of a \$9,000 award to fund the completion of a literary work of fiction, poetry, or nonfiction for a general audience.

In order to make their decision, the five judges— Octavio Quintanilla, Sergio Troncoso, Diana López, Guadalupe García McCall, and Kip Stratton—reviewed seventy applications that included lengthy writing samples. The panel came away impressed by the "deep pool of talent, which speaks to the prestige of this award" and to the quality of letters in our state.

About the recipient. Rubén Degollado's work has appeared or has been featured in *Texas Highways, Lit Hub, The Rumpus, Beloit Fiction Journal, Gulf Coast, Hayden's Ferry Review,* and *Image*. His first novel *Throw* won the Texas Institute of Letters Best Young Adult book for 2020, was a *Christianity Today* Book of Merit, and a Texas Library Association Best book for Teen readers. *The Family Izquierdo*, a *New York Times* Editor's Choice, was long-listed for the PEN/Faulkner and the Mark Twain American Voice in Literature awards. Kawai Washburn Strong, writing for *The New York Times*, called *The Family Izquierdo* "a novel of Tejano plenty blooming among the literary plains of desolation...expanding with a musicality that only strengthens as it grows." Rubén lives and writes along the southern border, in the Río Grande Valley of Texas.

During the TIL Annual Awards Ceremony on April 26, Rubén will be recognized and will receive the Jones Fellowship Award funds.



The Texas Institute of Letters is a nonprofit Honor Society founded in 1936 to celebrate Texas literature and recognize distinctive literary achievement. The TIL's elected membership consists of the state's most respected writers—including winners of the Pulitzer Prize, National Book Award, PEN/Faulkner Award, Man Booker Prize, Academy Award, International Latino Book Award, Americas Award, Lambda Literary Award, MacArthur Fellowship, and Guggenheim Fellowship.

For more information on the TIL or the TIL Annual Awards Ceremony contact David Bowles, president@texasinstituteofletters.org, or visit the TIL website at www.texasinstituteofletters.org.