

TEXAS INSTITUTE OF LETTERS ANNOUNCES WINNERS OF 2024 LITERARY AWARDS

The Texas Institute of Letters has announced the winners of the twelve Annual TIL Literary Awards. This year, TIL will award more than \$27,000 in prizes to these writers at the TIL Awards Ceremony and Presentation in The Woodlands, Texas on May 4, 2024.

The Texas Institute of Letters is a nonprofit Honor Society founded in 1936 to celebrate Texas literature and recognize distinctive literary achievement. The TIL's elected membership consists of the state's most respected writers—including winners of the Pulitzer Prize, National Book Award, PEN/Faulkner Award, Man Booker Prize, Academy Award, International Latino Book Award, Americas Award, Lambda Literary Award, MacArthur Fellowship, and Guggenheim Fellowship.

From President Diana López: "Each year, the TIL recognizes the best of Texas writing in a variety of genres that includes fiction, poetry, nonfiction, scholarly writing, translation, and short form works. We are happy to also announce two new contests, the Giron / Valdez Bilingual Poetry Award in the amount of \$1,000 to be given biennially starting in 2025 and the Frederick Luis Aldama Award for Best Graphic Narrative in the amount of \$1,500 to be given biennially starting in 2026. Many thanks to our judges for carefully considering the entries. This year's winners demonstrate the wonderful talent and diversity of writers with Texas roots. Celebrating their achievements is a highlight of our banquet weekend, and we are so grateful for the opportunity to recognize and support the best of Texas literature."

The winners of the 2024 TIL Literary Awards are KB Brookins, Skip Hollandsworth, Jennifer Grotz, Selena Gambrell Anderson, Deborah D.E.E.P. Mouton, Cyrus Cassells, JD Pluecker, Dominic Smith, Diana López, Xelena Gonzalez, Whitney Nell Stewart, Drew Buxton, and Laekan Zea Kemp. All awards are for works published in 2023, except for the biennial Soeurette Diehl Fraser Award for Best Translation of a Book, which is for works published in 2022 and 2023. Carmen Tafolla will receive the Texas Institute of Letters' prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award, the highest honor given by the TIL.

During the banquet weekend, the TIL will also induct twelve new members for 2024: fiction and nonfiction writers, Michael Bracken, Leslie Jill Patterson, Rudy Ruiz, and Ruth. J. Simmons; poet, Natalia Treviño; children's and YA authors, Varsha Bajaj, Rebecca Balcárcel, Laekan Zea Kemp, and Matt Mendez; singer/songwriter, Lucinda Williams; journalist, Cecilia Ballí; and historian, Mary Margaret McAllen. Newly inducted members will read from their work during the weekend in The Woodlands on May 3rd.

For more information on the TIL or the May 4th awards ceremony, contact Diana López, president@texasinstituteofletters.org, or visit the TIL website at www.texasinstituteofletters.org.

THE 2024 TIL AWARD WINNERS

Jesse H. Jones Award for Best Book of Fiction

Winner: Return to Valetto by Dominic Smith; Farrar, Straus, and

Giroux.

Finalists: Huizache Women by Estella Gonzalez, Arte Público Press.

Edith Holler by Edward Carey, Riverhead Books.



Sergio Troncoso Award for Best First Book of Fiction

Winner: So Much Heart: Stories by Drew Buxton, With an X Books.

Finalists: The Sorrows of Others by Ada Zhang, A Public Space Books.

Shoot the Moon by Isa Arsén, G.P. Putnam's Sons.



Carr P. Collins Award for Best Book of Nonfiction

Winner: Black Chameleon: Memory, Womanhood, and Myth by

Deborah D.E.E.P. Mouton, Holt Paperbacks.

Finalists Waco: David Koresh, the Branch Davidians, and a Legacy of

Rage by Jeff Guinn, Simon & Schuster.

Exhibitions: Essays on Art and Atrocity by Jehanne Dubrow,

University of New Mexico Press.



Burdine C. Johnson Award for Best Book of Poetry

Winner: Still Falling by Jennifer Grotz, Graywolf Press.

Finalists: The Rock That is Not a Rabbit by Corey Marks, University of

Pittsburgh Press.

The Fears by Kevin Prufer, Copper Canyon Press.



Photo by Beowulf Sheehan

Texas Institute of Letters Award for First Book of Poetry

Winner: Freedom House by KB Brookins, Deep Vellum Publishing.

Finalists: El Rey of Gold Teeth by Reyes Ramirez, Hub City Press.

Portrait of Us Burning by Sebastián H. Páramo, Curbstone

Books 2.



Photo by Beowulf Sheehan

Ramirez Family Award for Most Significant Scholarly Book

Winner: This is Our Home: Slavery and Struggle on Southern

Plantations by Whitney Nell Stewart, The University of

North Carolina Press.

Finalists: The Year That Broke Politics: Collusion and Chaos in the

Presidential Election of 1968 by Luke A. Nichter, Yale

University Press.

Before Lawrence v. Texas: The Making of a Queer Social Movement by Wesley G.

Phelps, University of Texas Press.



Jean Flynn Award for Best Young Adult Book

Winner: An Appetite for Miracles by Laekan Zea Kemp; Little, Brown

Books for Young Readers.

Finalists: The Weight of Everything by Marcia Argueta Mickelson,

Carolrhoda Lab.

Ander & Santi Were Here by Jonny Garza Villa, Wednesday

Books.



Photo by Diana Ascarrunz

Deirdre Siobhan FlynnBass Award for Best Middle Grade Book

Winner: Los Monstruos: Felice and the Wailing Woman by Diana López,

Kokila.

Finalists: Warrior Girl by Carmen Tafolla, Nancy Paulsen Books.

The Museum of Lost and Found by Leila Sales, Harry N. Abrams.



Brigid Erin Flynn Award for Best Picture Book

Winner: Remembering by Xelena González, Simon & Schuster

Books for Young Readers.

Finalists: Piece by Piece: Ernestine's Gift for President Roosevelt by

Lupe Ruiz-Flores, Millbrook Press.

Nell Plants a Tree by Anne Wynter, Balzer + Bray.



Soeurette Diehl Fraser Award for Best Translation of a Book

Co-winners: To the Cypress Again and Again: Tribute to Salvador Espriu translated by

Cyrus Cassells, Stephen F. Austin University Press.

Trash translated by JD Pluecker, Deep Vellum Publishing.

Finalist: Tepozteco's Belly translated by Nicolás Kanellos, Arte Público Press.

.





Kay Cattarulla Award for Best Short Story

Winner: "Jewel of the Gulf of Mexico" by Selena Gambrell Anderson,

McSweeney's.

Finalists: "song of the burning woman" by ire'ne lara silva, Alaska Quarterly

Review.

"Southsiders" by Jim Sanderson, Concho River Review.



Edwin "Bud" Shrake Award for Best Short Nonfiction

Winner: "Amor Eterno" by Skip Hollandsworth, *Texas Monthly*.

Finalists: "The Butterfly Effect" by Bridget Grumet, *Austin-American Statesman*.

"Hellhounds on his Trail" by Michael Hall, Texas Monthly.

