

TIL literary contests now open with prizes totaling more than \$27,000

The Texas Institute of Letters has named its distinguished judges for its literary contests, which are now open for submissions. Judges will select finalists and winners in thirteen categories for the best works published in 2023. Winners will be awarded a total of more than \$27,000 at the TIL's annual meeting, to be held on May 3-4, 2024 in The Woodlands, Texas.

To submit works for award consideration:

1. Complete online contest entry form and pay entry fee (\$20 for book awards / \$10 for short story & short nonfiction awards):

Online contest entry form

- 2. Submissions of works must be mailed to the appropriate judging committee members. Addresses are listed below. Since there are three members for each committee, you will need to send a copy of the work to each judge. Include a brief note inside each copy of the book or clipped to the article that identifies the contest that you are entering.
- 3. Authors or their representatives should not have any contact with judges other than to submit work to each judge.
- 4. A book can only be entered in one category.
- 5. Submissions must be postmarked no later than Friday, January 5, 2024.

- 6. All works entered must be published in a print format during 2023, with the exception of the Cattarulla and Shrake awards. Works for the Cattarulla and Shrake awards must be published in print OR digital format during 2023. Unpublished manuscripts and online publications will not be considered. Submissions for the Soeurette Diehl Fraser Award for Best Translation of a Book are for books published in 2022 or 2023.
- 7. To be considered, an entry must be the first published version of the work.
- 8. A person or publisher may enter only one work per author per contest category for the writing contests; a person or publisher may enter only one work per translator for the translation contest. In other words, a publisher may enter different works by different authors in one category but cannot submit more than one book by the same author or translator in one category.
 - The only exception to the 'one work per author per contest category' rule is the Shrake Award for Short Nonfiction: "This prize is for the best article or essay appearing in newspapers, journals, or magazines. Multiple articles by a single author may be submitted with a total not exceeding 10,000 words, as long as those articles are parts of a series or by a columnist."
- 9. The Cattarulla and Shrake awards allow for the submission of works that have been published in print OR digital formats during 2023. Eligible digital publications should be: refereed and edited journals with an acceptance/rejection policy (not self-publishing); stand-alone digital publications (e.g. Narrative Magazine) or online publications of established print magazines or newspapers (e.g. Atlantic Monthly); and digital publications with a discernible publication date. The digital publication of the short story or short nonfiction should be the first published version of the work. **Special submission instructions**: print the digital entry, with URL at the top of first page, and submit work to judges by regular mail.

CONTEST CATEGORIES AND JUDGES

Jesse H. Jones Award for Best Work of Fiction (\$5,000)

Rudy Ruiz (Chair), 2417 N. Main Avenue, San Antonio TX 78212 Terry Shames, 20 Ketch St. #1; Marina del Rey, CA 90292 Rebecca Balcarcel, 3133 Meadow Wood Ln.; Bedford, TX 76021

Sergio Troncoso Award for Best Work of First Fiction (\$4,000)

Jeff Sartain (Chair), 4156 Juniata Street; St. Louis, MO 63116 Ramona Reeves, PO Box 150067; Austin, TX 78715 Christopher Carmona, 321 N. Smith St.; San Antonio, TX 78207

Carr P. Collins Award for Best Book of Non-fiction (\$4,000)

Cynthia Leal Massey (Chair), 10547 Rocking M Trail; Helotes, TX 78023 Kendra Allen, 12130 Alamo Ranch Pkwy, Apt. 4201; San Antonio, TX 78253

Michael Mooney, 1236 Tiana St.; Anna, TX 75409

Ramirez Award for Most Significant Scholarly Book (\$2,500)

Mary Jo O'Rear (Chair), 3946 Kingston; Corpus Christi, TX 78415 Sam W. Haynes, Center for Greater Southwestern Studies Box 19497, University of Texas at Arlington; Arlington, TX 76019 Craig Goodman, 3007 N. Ben Wilson; Victoria, TX 77901

Burdine C. Johnson Award for Best Book of Poetry (\$1,250)

Jenny Browne (Chair), Dept. of English, Trinity University, 1 Trinity Place; San Antonio, TX 78212

Jasminne Mendez, 11742 N. Michael Cir; Houston, TX 77071 Hayan Charara, 5157 Eagle Rock Blvd.; Los Angeles, CA 90041

Texas Institute of Letters Award For Best First Book Of Poetry (\$1,000)

Jenny Browne (Chair), Dept. of English, Trinity University, 1 Trinity Place; San Antonio, TX 78212

Jasminne Mendez, 11742 N. Michael Cir; Houston, TX 77071 Hayan Charara, 5157 Eagle Rock Blvd.; Los Angeles, CA 90041

Edwin "Bud" Shrake Award for Short Nonfiction (\$1,000) This prize is for the best article or essay appearing in newspapers, journals, or magazines. Multiple articles by a single author may be submitted as one entry — with a total not exceeding 10,000 words, as long as those articles are parts of a series or by a columnist.

Gus Bova (Chair), PO Box 180664.; Austin, TX 78718 Helen Thompson, 223 N. Guadalupe St. #631.; Santa Fe, NM 87501 Robert Moore, 711 Blanchard Ave., El Paso, TX 79902

Kay Cattarulla Award for Best Short Story (\$1,000)

Rubén Degollado (Chair), 29697 S. Kansas City Road; La Feria, TX 78559 Sindya Bhanoo, Moreland Hall, 2550 SW Jefferson Way; Corvallis, OR 97331

Kari Ann Holt, c/o Diana Lopez, 4510 Grand Lake Dr.; Corpus Christi, TX 78413

Jean Flynn Award for Best Young Adult Book (\$1,000)

Araceli Manriquez (Chair), 333 W Cevallos #1244; San Antonio, TX 78204 Alex Temblador, c/o Diana Lopez, 4510 Grand Lake Dr.; Corpus Christi, TX 78413

Adrianna Cuevas, PO Box 1747.; Kyle, TX 78640

Brigid Erin Flynn Award for Best Picture Book (\$1,000)

René Colato Laínez (Chair), 8824 Nagle Ave.; Arleta, CA 91331 Suzette Benish, c/o Diana Lopez, 4510 Grand Lake Dr.; Corpus Christi, TX 78413

Monica Brown, Box 6032, Northern Arizona University, Department of English; Flagstaff, AZ 86011-6032

Deirdre Siobhan FlynnBass Award for Best Middle Grade Book (\$1,000)

René Colato Laínez (Chair), 8824 Nagle Ave.; Arleta, CA 91331 Suzette Benish, c/o Diana Lopez, 4510 Grand Lake Dr.; Corpus Christi, TX 78413

Monica Brown, Box 6032, Northern Arizona University, Department of English; Flagstaff, AZ 86011-6032

Soeurette Diehl Fraser Award for Best Translation of a Book (\$1,000)

Given biennially. Books published in 2022 and 2023 are eligible for consideration.

Charles Alcorn (Chair), 1021 S. 10th Avenue; Edinburg, TX 78539

Sheila Black, Emerson Mill Avenue, 101 W 5th St. Apt. 6050; Tempe, AZ 85281

David Samuel Levinson, 85 W. White Willow Circle.; Spring, TX 77381

The Texas Institute of Letters is a non-profit established in 1936 to promote interest in Texas literature and to recognize literary achievement. The TIL's elected membership consists of the state's most recognized and serious writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, and scholarship. The membership includes winners of the MacArthur Fellowship, Man Booker Prize, Pulitzer Prizes in drama, fiction, and nonfiction, as well as prizes awarded by PEN, and dozens of other regional and national award and grant-giving institutions.

The concepts of diversity and affirmative action guide the policies and programs of the Texas Institute of Letters. Our goal is to provide equal opportunity and representation to all distinguished writers without regard to race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, marital status, veteran status, sexual orientation, genetic information or any other protected characteristic under applicable law. To truly reflect the population and the experience of all peoples living in Texas, we seek and value the benefits of diversity in membership, awardees, and administration.